Thoughts for today

September 23, 2009


I used to read NYC’s craigslist Rants n’ Raves for fun during work. I laughed at all the rampant racism and misogyny. But after a couple weeks of reading the same kind of posts over and over (woman-bashing, minority-bashing, gay-bashing), it makes me feel horrible about myself and horrible about humanity in general. Honestly, it makes me feel sick to my stomach to read it any more. I wonder if it’s my conscience (which I’ve doubted even existed up until this point), or if I’m just a pussy? It’s a little refreshing to see so many people who don’t think it’s necessary to be 100% PC all the time… but also revolting. Anonymity really brings out the worst in people. It makes me appreciate everyone I know a whole lot more.

Leave a Reply

